My Blush Collection featuring TheBalm’s Boys and Hot Mama

I am in absolute love with The Boys. They complement me so well. I always feel my very best when I am with them. And there is a certain Mama with whom I feel quite sexy. Before you go and think I have lost my …. umm well you know, let me just say I am talking about my blushes from The Balm which have quite sassy names. 

Let’s start with the company that created these beautiful Boys, TheBalm. It was founded by Marissa Shipman in 2004, in her kitchen! Yes, in her kitchen. She apparently loved makeup a lot and wanted to create her own products, so she ordered books from Amazon on how to make makeup products. She later on hired a chemist and designed her own website, which took shape of TheBalm cosmetics today. Wow! now that’s what is called an entrepreneurial mind and DIY attitude. And now nearly ten years later, TheBalm is a well known brand which offers paraben free and cruelty free products.

I came to know about theBalm products from one of my favorite YouTube channels, emilynoel83. First, I wanted to go for the Nude Tude palette which is their version of the Naked palette, offering nude shimmery eyeshadows. But for some reason or another, I could never get around to purchasing it and in the meantime, I got really fascinated by their blushes which boast highly pigmented, ultra soft and long wearing colors. In a couple of months, I accumulated my collection to what it is now and I still plan to get their Instain blushes after some time. Other than the blushes, I also own TheBalm’s highlighter Mary LouManizer and the darker blush-cum-contour-cum-eyeshadow Betty LouManizer. And that’s another thing, TheBalm has some of the cutest names and packaging for their products. Let me show you what I am talking about.

TheBalm Blushes

TheBalm Blushes

TheBalm Blushes

TheBalm Blushes

The packaging is uber cute, super kitschy artwork on top (reminds me of Mills and Boons novel covers, LOL) and theme of the products packaging and names is definitely quite vintage and retro style. The blushes and in fact most of the products have cardboard packaging, but are still quite sturdy. They come with a sleeve cover which features the same cover as on the blush cover. When you open them, they sport a nice sizable mirror and the one-liner, So Many Men, So Little Time (a woman on a mission with her blush as her weapon, LOL). What can I say, I am a complete fan of TheBalm’s products and 50% of the credit goes to the innovative packaging ideas. And if the product is good than its win-win.

TheBalm Blushes L to R : Cabana Boy, Down Boy, Frat Boy, Hot Mama

TheBalm Blushes L to R : Cabana Boy, Down Boy, Frat Boy, Hot Mama

TheBalm Blushes L to R : Cabana Boy, Down Boy, Frat Boy, Hot Mama

TheBalm Blushes L to R : Cabana Boy, Down Boy, Frat Boy, Hot Mama

The first blush that I bought is Cabana Boy and rightly it features a sultry, flirty boy ( probably the cabana boy himself! ) making out with a girl. I was really confused about the color of this blush before I bought it. I knew it was a dark color but when I actually saw it, I was disheartened to find it an almost purple shade and I thought to myself that I am never going to use it, ever! Boy, I was so wrong and I’m glad that I was. It’s actually a dusty plum shade which has a beautiful hue when blended and is actually very flattering on application. It has very slight shimmer which doesn’t show much. You can check my photo where I applied it here, when I went to meet Huda. As I have said before, the product is very pigmented, soft in texture and a little bit of product is enough to give a rich intense color. A light application is perfect for a day look, build up the color and you can easily slip it into a evening look.

The net weight: .3 oz (8.5 grams)

Ingredients: Mica, Boron Nitride, Polyethylene, Isoeicosane, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, Silica, Polyisobutene, Ptfe, Synthetic Wax, Dimethicone, Sodium Dehydroacetate. May Contain / Peut Contenir [+/- Bismuth Oxychloride (Ci 77163), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Carmine (Ci 75470), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Iron Oxide (Ci 77491)].

TheBalm's Cabana Boy

TheBalm’s Cabana Boy

TheBalm's Cabana Boy

TheBalm’s Cabana Boy

TheBalm's Cabana Boy

TheBalm’s Cabana Boy

TheBalm's Cabana Boy

TheBalm’s Cabana Boy

Down Boy has on its cover a couple of socialite boys eyeing a girl. It is a baby pink shade and quite cool toned. It’s not exactly made for our Indian skin tone. One needs to apply it a couple of times for it to show on our skin tone. But I have never had a babydoll pink shade and I always wanted one, so I got this. It’s really a everyday type of product and one can easily wear during daytime, with light to no makeup. Of all the blushes, this is the least impressive product for me, solely because it doesn’t suit me much. But my fair skinned friends will definitely love it. It’s the same in texture and pigmentation as Cabana Boy. Just like Cabana Boy, it has slight shimmer which cannot be detected until up close.

The net weight: .35 oz (9.9 grams)

Ingredients: Mica, Boron Nitride, Polyethylene, Ptfe, Isoeicosane, Silica, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, Polyisobutene, Dimethicone, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Bismuth Oxychloride (Ci 77163), Carmine (Ci 75470), Iron Oxides (Ci 77492).

TheBalm's Down Boy

TheBalm’s Down Boy

TheBalm's Down Boy

TheBalm’s Down Boy

TheBalm's Down Boy

TheBalm’s Down Boy

TheBalm's Down Boy

TheBalm’s Down Boy

Frat Boy is a orange-y peach-y shade and has a football boy on the cover getting a kiss from (hopefully!) his girlfriend. LOL. This is such a pretty shade and a total summer choice. This is also a everyday type of product and has very slight shimmer, again almost undetectable. It is super soft, almost buttery and rich in color. This shade can be worn confidently by ladies of all skin tones.

The net weight: .35 oz (9.9 grams).

Ingredients: Mica, Boron Nitride, Polyethylene, Isoeicosane, Silica, Ptfe, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, Polyisobutene, Dimethicone, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Bismuth Oxychloride (Ci 77163), Carmine (Ci 75470), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492).

TheBalm's Frat Boy

TheBalm’s Frat Boy

TheBalm's Frat Boy

TheBalm’s Frat Boy

TheBalm's Frat Boy

TheBalm’s Frat Boy

TheBalm's Frat Boy

TheBalm’s Frat Boy

Hot Mama is pinky peach shade and has a sexy beach babe on its cover. This is quite comparable to Nars Orgasm, except Orgasm is more pink and Hot Mama is more peach. It has fine golden shimmer which does not spread all over the face. It can be used as a eyeshadow and for highlighting as well. In fact, the other blushes can be doubled up as eyeshadows too. It’s a good choice for a night out partying. It applies lightly but the color is easily build-able. Again very fine texture and good pigmentation.

The net weight: .25 oz (7.08 grams)

Ingredients: Boron Nitride, Polyethylene, Isoeicosane, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, Silica, Polyisobutene, Ptfe, Synthetic Wax, Dimethicone, Sodium Dehydroacetate. May Contain / Peut Contenir [+/- Mica, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Carmine (Ci 75470), (Iron Oxide) Ci 77491)].

TheBalm's Hot Mama

TheBalm’s Hot Mama

TheBalm's Hot Mama

TheBalm’s Hot Mama

TheBalm's Hot Mama

TheBalm’s Hot Mama

TheBalm's Hot Mama

TheBalm’s Hot Mama

Even though Cabana Boy has the same packaging as Down Boy and Frat Boy, it has slightly less product than the latter two. But it’s still a lot of product and all three cost $21 on theBalm website, which is not much when you compare to Benefit and Nars blushes which have much less product and cost more. Hot Mama has lesser product than all the three Boys and costs $20 on theBalm website.

Below are the swatches for all the blushes.

Swatches L to R : Cabana Boy, Down Boy, Frat Boy, Hot Mama

Swatches L to R : Cabana Boy, Down Boy, Frat Boy, Hot Mama

Blended Swatches L to R : Cabana Boy, Down Boy, Frat Boy, Hot Mama

Blended Swatches L to R : Cabana Boy, Down Boy, Frat Boy, Hot Mama

TheBalm's Hot Mama has a noticeable shimmer

TheBalm’s Hot Mama has a noticeable shimmer

Is it a Hit? Most definitely, they are not as expensive as other high end brands and offer a lot of product for a reasonable price. They are highly pigmented so a little goes a long way and with so much product, you will be using them for a really long time before you hit pan. And the packaging is a definite winner.

Is it a Miss? Not much in cons except that the colors are quite limited. If you see Nars or Tarte’s blushes, you will find a wider range of colors available, that is if you can afford to spend the extra bucks. But if all you need is a shimmer, a peach, a pink and a dark shade, the basic everyday shades, than these four are more than enough. And you can always check out the shades in their Instain blush range.

So, were you impressed by my Boys and Mama? Let me know your thoughts.

Till Next Time, Have a Good Day

2 thoughts on “My Blush Collection featuring TheBalm’s Boys and Hot Mama

  1. Hi Eram~~how are you? I know it’s out of context but still can you please suggest me some good brands for BB cream and how to choose it( I me complexion wise, like mine is wheatish). Thanx

    • I’m good Shazia, hope ur fine as well. You can always try Lakme CC cream or the drugstore ones like Loreal and Ponds. But I saw your profile and found you are living in Japan? Pretty cool. So try finding Korean BB creams there like Missha brand. They make the best BB creams
      BB creams have two purposes, to provide moisture and some coverage. Brands like Loreal give anti aging BB creams whereas the Korean BB creams focus on coverage and than moisturising. So depending on your preference, try finding them. My favorites are Korean ones.

Leave a Reply

