Bronzed Copper Eye Look with Maybelline’s Copper Chic Eye Studio Quad

I am back with yet another eye look. This happens to be from one of my favorite drugstore brands, Maybelline. I have mostly bought lipsticks from Maybelline because of the low cost and their vast range of shades. I never really paid attention to their eyeshadow collections because, if you notice their stand in Lifestyle, Carrefour etc, they don’t really keep any eyeshadow palettes. I was watching one of my favorite Youtube makeup gurus, EmilyNoel83, where she featured this tiny yet awesome-ly colored eyeshadow palette from Maybelline. It was love at first sight for me and I knew that I had to get it. Sadly, it was not available here or in India, so I had to order from Amazon and after much drama (broken items and reshipment), I finally got my hands on it.

Presenting to you for the very first time on my blog, Copper Chic eyestudio quad from Maybelline *yayys and applause*

IMG_2839

IMG_2840

Ingredients and weight listed at the back

Maybelline Copper Chic Eyestudio Quad

Maybelline Copper Chic Eyestudio Quad

IMG_2842

IMG_2843

Beautiful colors right? It includes a whitish-pink with a frosty finish, subdued copper, muted golden bronze, and darker chocolate bronze with light gold shimmer. My favorite happens to be the copper color and it single-handedly convinced me to buy this palette. The colors are extremely shimmery, so you can expect a lot of fallout. It comes with a dual end sponge applicator. Pretty useless for me.

Swatches for Maybelline Copper Chic

Swatches for Maybelline Copper Chic

The packaging isn’t very sturdy. The plastic containers for the eyeshadows are quite flimsy. But, because it’s very compact, the size of my palm, it’s easy to carry around in a makeup pouch. Just make sure not to put a lot of items on top of it as the glass top will surely crack. Also, it’s not entirely fall-proof, so be careful while handling it. The eyeshadows are a bit powdery due to the shimmer consistency and can easily fall out.

The eyestudio collection comes in 15 alluring colors and you can check them on the official site here. Also, Maybelline has a habit of releasing limited edition palettes and some of them are quite pretty too. They cost around $10 on the website. I got it for a little less price on Amazon but shipping included, it came to around AED 40 for me too.

Moving on to the eye look I created with this palette. Due to the shimmery, powdery consistency of the eyeshadows, you cannot achieve a good clean look with the palette alone. A primer or base is a MUST for the application of these type of shadows. I applied them alone with my Milk Nyx Jumbo Pencil as base and I was quite disappointed with the results. The colors did not stand out, their original color was dimmed and the look on whole lacked piz-zazz. I personally came to the conclusion that a similar color base gave much better results than a primer alone. The shimmery colors were able to stick to the base much better and the vibrancy of the colors was not compromised.

I started with a clean eye and some under eye concealer applied. Applied black kohl on my lower and upper waterline. Then, I patted Maybelline’s Limited Edition Inked in Pink Color Tattoo Cream Eyeshadow on my lid. It’s a light pink with frosted metallic finish. It’s a good product for a single eyeshadow look as well a good base for shimmer eyeshadows. Taking my Nyx Slide On pencil in Golden Bronze (check out the review here), I lined my upper and lower lash line and smudged it out with a smudger brush. Taking the copper color with an angled shadow brush, I patted it on my lid completely. Then, I applied the lightest color, the whitish pink one, as a highlighter on my brow bone and inner corners of the eye. Next, I blended the bronze color into my crease with a fluffy blending brush. Finally, I took the darkest color and with a pencil brush and blended it into the outer corner of my eye and also into the lower lash line, blending with the the already applied Golden Bronze pencil color. Finished off the look with my black pen eyeliner and mascara.

Here’s the finished look

IMG_2806

Eye Look created with Maybelline Copper Chic

Eye Look created with Maybelline Copper Chic

The eye look simplified through numbers

1 3

The Maybelline color tattoo really brought out the colors of the palette. I’ve bought another eyestudio quad Mad for Mauve and I will be sharing the look I made with it in the next post, as I am too lazy to continue anymore now. LOL

Is it a Hit? Do I really need to ask with such a pretty color palette. If you’re shimmer crazy then definitely get this one. It’s a good quality palette considering the fact that it’s a drugstore product.

Is it a Miss? The packaging is quite flimsy but then what would you expect from such a cheap product. Also there’s a lot of fallout because of the shimmer and you have to keep a fluff brush around to wipe away the glitter. The non-availability of this palette in my region is a definite negative point. However, you can always try from Amazon or Ebay.

So, what did you guys think about this palette? Worth spending your penny over? Do let me know

3 thoughts on “Bronzed Copper Eye Look with Maybelline’s Copper Chic Eye Studio Quad

  1. Pingback: Purple Smokey Eye Look | simplyEram's Blog

  2. Love this color palette I think it’s great. Definitely need a primer of some sort though. My eyes are blue so I like oranges bronzes so this was perfect for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

