POND’S Age Repair BB+ Cream Review

Ok, before we get on to the product in discussion today, I want to ask some harsh questions. How many of us ‘suffer’ from perfect skin? LOL. So I’m being sarcastic, but how can I not, when I have to suffer from huge pores, redness and discoloration and some people get away with looking perfect without applying a single ounce of cream, lotion, moisturiser their whole life.

Next question, how many of us apply foundation to hide our imperfections every time we go out?Uugghhh, who is going to do all that hardwork, right sisters? Because the truth is, it’s so hard to find THE perfect foundation shade and then to have the right brushes to apply with and what not.

Guess, the foundation sales must have gone down at some point or the makeup industry must have realised that women can’t afford to keep their men waiting any longer then they already do by putting on foundation, even if they have to go grocery shopping. That’s the point where a magical product came into creation. Beauty Balm or Blemish Balm creams aka BB creams. Ok, so I’m exaggerating. BB cream was originally formulated in the 1960s in Germany by dermatologist Dr. Christine Schrammek to protect her patients’ skin after surgery. The Koreans caught on to it in 1985 and perfected the product to give that all-clear, evened out skin effect. Some of the really good BB brands like Missha, Skin 79, Dr. Jart’s offer multiple shades for different skin tones, others contain formulas designed to oxidize to match the user’s skin tone.

The western makeup industry caught up to this phenomenon a little late, but ever since, they have been coming out with their own versions of BB creams, tinted moisturisers etc. Although, I haven’t used the Asian BB creams, I have heard that they are much better than the Western ones in terms of coverage and all.

I had bought the Garnier’s Miracle Skin Perfector BB cream a few months back. I found that although the cream managed to even out my skin initially, it left it very dry (even though I have combination to oily skin). It would fade within a couple of hours. During the summer, it literally melted off my skin within minutes. And even though I bought the light shade, it was dark for my skin tone. I used to mix it with my Body Shop tinted moisturiser to give that healthy skin effect. All in all, I was really disappointed with it.

Then last week, another BB cream caught my eye in the local hypermarket. POND’S Age Repair BB+ Cream. I guess the anti-ageing effects got my interest and I thought about giving this one a try.

POND'S Age Repair BB+ Cream

POND’S Age Repair BB+ Cream

POND'S Age Repair BB+ Cream

POND’S Age Repair BB+ Cream

IMG_3055

Squeeze tube

Squeeze tube

The ingredients are listed as below.

IMG_3059-001

The net wgt. of the product is 25gms and it cost me approx Dhs 34. It has SPF 30 PA++ protection. The SPF 30 is protection from UVB rays, basically your tanning from being out in the sun. The PA++ is protection from UVA rays, protection from ageing caused by exposure to the sun. This is an important aspect of anti ageing products.

There are two shades available. Light for light skin, people with pink under tones and Beige for medium, yellow skin toned people. There doesn’t seem to be a shade for dark skin tones, so that’s a negative. The texture is creamy but light and easily blendable. It’s more fine than Garnier’s BB cream

POND's BB cream in Beige

POND’s BB cream in Beige

BB cream blended out

BB cream blended out

As you can see, the color is pronounced-ly yellow on the inner side of my hand despite my trying to blend it out. This is because the skin on the inner side of my hand has more pink tones and my face skin has more yellow tones, hence the mismatch.

What POND’S has to say about their BB cream :

Helps provide effortless natural bare-faced look!

Instant natural coverage. Reduces wrinkles, fine lines and age spots from within the epidermis layer.

I don’t know about the reduced wrinkles and fine lines. They seem to be tall claims and honestly I’ve not used the cream long enough to notice any difference. But yes, it does give a clean, comparatively evened out effect to my skin. It produces a more natural effect than Garnier’s BB cream. It provides sheer to medium coverage. The cream covered up redness on my cheeks and around the nose, lightened the under eye circles (not disappear them completely), lightened the discoloration around my chin a little bit. So, ladies who have dark under eye circles, pronounced blemishes will find this useless. The Garnier BB cream gives more coverage comparatively, however it is more suitable for medium to dark skin tones.

WARNING! Below images could scare you and probably give you nightmares. No, I am not putting up an image of THE GRUDGE’s ghost, though she has far better skin than me! I am going to put up an image of a section of my skin before and after the application of the BB cream

Before POND'S BB Cream

Before POND’S BB Cream

After POND'S BB Cream

After POND’S BB Cream

You can notice a more clear, even, natural looking skin after the application of the BB cream. As an added bonus, it gives a slight dewy effect as well.

Is it a Hit? If you don’t suffer from a trouble-some, acne prone skin and just need a product to even, clear out your skin, than this is a good option. Inexpensive, light to touch and easy to blend are added positives

Is it a Miss? It comes in only two shades, so it may not suit many skin tones, and there is no option for dark skin tones. It gives at a best medium coverage and people with strong blemishes, dark under eye circles, people with acne-prone skin, will need to give this a miss.

So what did you guys think of this product? Worth a try? Let me know your views.

Leave a Reply

