Rave Review : Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner

Phheww, MIA for a month and back with a product I fell in love with on first try. Honest truth is that after such a long break, I was lazy and hesitant to come back to the blog even though I had some stuff to write about. Guess it takes an amazing product to pull you back. LOL

I have confessed my undying love for UD and NYX pencil eyeliners and although I love them still, there is one con to all of them. They need to be sharpened to keep a pointed tip and draw a thin line on the eye. They are great for smudging out or using as a base below the eyeshadows. But to make a winged liner or a thin liner, one needs a liquid liner or a gel liner. And OMG what a gel liner I found and that too from a drugstore brand, Maybelline.

Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Eyeliner

Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Eyeliner

IMG_3744

IMG_3738

 

Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Eyeliner is an excellent eyeliner product. It comes in a small pot with a eyeliner brush as a bonus. Maybelline boasts it as water-proof, smudge-proof, long lasting (upto 24hrs!) Well I don’t know about the 24hrs claim, but it definitely is water-proof and smudge-proof.

What Maybelline has to say about it

WHY YOU’LL LOVE IT

Now gel reinvents liner:              
• Oil-free formula holds highly concentrated pigments in a clear gel base
• Smudge-proof and waterproof for 24 hours
• Most intense line for lasting drama                                                    
• Safe for sensitive eyes and ophthalmologist-tested
• Contact lens safe

IMG_3735

IMG_3737

The pot is pretty small in size, probably half the size of my middle finger. The pot contains 3gms of product but its enough to last a couple of months of regular use. To ensure the longevity of the product, make sure to screw on the top real tight or the product will dry off. As of now, it’s available in four colors only : black, brown, grey and purple. I do hope they introduce more colors because I am in love with it.

 

IMG_3739

IMG_3740

The brush is meh. I figure the brush bristles may bend out of shape after some time, but I have my Sigma angled liner brush as backup so need to fear. Sigma is here LOL.

How to apply with a brush? In small strokes from inner corner of the lash line all the way to the outer corner. I found that I don’t need to stretch or pull my eye a lot to apply it. It applied quite smoothly with the brush and the best thing about a gel liner is that it can be applied on the waterline and tightline as well.

Here is what I managed to do with it

Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Eyeliner

Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Eyeliner

An attempt to a winged liner. I decided to just wear this product alone, nothing else on my eye. I must say here that this was my second attempt with a winged liner and I managed to make a decent one with this product. So this is a definite must-have product for eyeliner newbies like me.

Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Eyeliner

Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Eyeliner

This is where I decided to go a little crazy and try on a vamp look, but than I forgot that I didn’t have my smokey eye to complete the effect. Darn it LOL. But you can carry this look on an evening out if you’re feeling lazy about putting any other eye makeup on. It’s pretty intense in itself.

Is it a Hit? Yes most definitely! In fact, its called the dupe for the high end, really good Bobbi Brown Gel Eyeliner.  It’s inexpensive, water-proof, smudge-proof, long lasting.

Is it a Miss? Doesn’t come in many colors, quality of the brush that comes along with it is not so great.

So all those ladies who are new to eyeliners or can’t manage to draw a line by themselves, definitely try this product out. It most certainly has made a fan out of me.

 

One thought on “Rave Review : Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner

  1. Pingback: Review Of The Studio Angled Eyeliner Brush

Leave a Reply

