Perfect Palette Tag

If you have been following YouTube the last couple of months, you will find a Perfect Palette Tag floating around and how a lot of YT makeup artists are listing their favorite and not so favorite palettes in this tag video. Well I work through words not videos, so I thought let me share my love for eyeshadow palettes through this tag post. The Perfect Palette Tag works through a series of questions, where one chooses the palette with best eyeshadow names, best color payoff etc etc. So scroll on down to see my most loved, my biggest regret, my desert island choices in palettes.

Starting off with the questions

Best Packaging Some people go for the cute, shiny packaging and some go for the sturdy, sensible packaging. Me? I belong to the first group so I picked the Too Faced’s Pretty Rebel palette. It has a golden, shimmery cover with suede-like laces criss-crossed on the top. The inside is all golden-y too with filigree-like design surrounding the mirror. The eye shadows are pretty too! I’m like a little girl fawning over her new shiny Barbie with this one. LOL

Too Faced Pretty Rebel palette

Too Faced Pretty Rebel palette

Too Faced Pretty Rebel palette

Too Faced Pretty Rebel palette

Too Faced Pretty Rebel palette

Too Faced Pretty Rebel palette

Best Color Payoff I have quite a few palettes that offer great quality of eyeshadows with awesome payoff, so it was quite hard for me to choose one. But eventually I went with the Urban Decay’s Smoked palette simply because each and every one of the ten eyeshadows in this palette has a 10/10 color payoff, be it the light shades or the dark ones.

Urban Decay Smoked palette

Urban Decay Smoked palette

Urban Decay Smoked palette

Urban Decay Smoked palette

Urban Decay Smoked palette

Urban Decay Smoked palette

Most Versatile This was hands down the Urban Decay’s limited edition Vice 2 palette for me. One look at all the jewel tones in this palette and you know you will be having endless combinations popping up in your head. It has my favorite blues, greens, purples, browns and a nice coral, silver, pink shade, all crammed into one single palette.

Urban Decay Vice 2 palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 palette

Urban Decay Vice 2 palette

Best for Travel All the perfect palette tag videos that I have seen till now have people choosing the palette that is the most convenient for traveling, the one that is the sleekest or the smallest or the one that has the most go-to shades for that individual person. Therefore my choice is going to seem totally different, simply because I am an Indian. We Indians or for that matter any other South Asian are unable to grasp the concept of traveling light. We pack big bags even if we have to go for the weekend. So me choosing the Tarte of Giving Collector’s set makes total sense. It has an eyeshadow palette, a mini blush, a mini mascara, a few lipglosses. Basically all the essentials, plus a TRAVEL BAG! to go along with it. I think this is a good choice for traveling abroad.

Tarte of Giving Collector's set

Tarte of Giving Collector’s set

Tarte of Giving Collector's set

Tarte of Giving Collector’s set

Tarte of Giving Collector's set

Tarte of Giving Collector’s set

Tarte of Giving Collector's set

Tarte of Giving Collector’s set

Tarte of Giving Collector's set

Tarte of Giving Collector’s set

Tarte of Giving Collector's set

Tarte of Giving Collector’s set

Biggest Regret This is such a bad question for an eyeshadow lover like me. I feel like I am stabbing my best friend in the back with this one but if I had to choose one that I regret buying it would be the Too Faced’s Romantic Eye palette. I bought this palette as part of a set which came with Too Faced’s eyeshadow primer, mascara and eye pencil with the total cost being the same as that of the individual palette. I was totally suckered into buying this one by the Sephora SA without even looking at the palette properly. Turns out that almost all the shades are light, cool toned and don’t go well on my skin at all. Plus the eyeshadow quality is not so great. This has been sitting untouched in my drawer ever since I bought it and I never really feel like using it to create any eye look.

Too Faced Romantic Eye palette

Too Faced Romantic Eye palette

Too Faced Romantic Eye palette

Too Faced Romantic Eye palette

Too Faced Romantic Eye palette

Too Faced Romantic Eye palette

Best Color Names I think all the makeup companies nowadays are coming up with smart, cute, theme based names for their eyeshadows so this was a bit tough to choose too, but I will give it to the Balm’s Nude Tude palette. First of all, they have this real wicked art in the palette (you only need to look at the girls to know what I’m talking about, hehehe) and the names that they have given to the eyeshadows are the different personalities of girls and I really like the idea that a woman can be cool, sexy, fun, witty and what not, so kudos to us ladies.

the Balm Nude Tude palette

the Balm Nude Tude palette

the Balm Nude Tude palette

the Balm Nude Tude palette

the Balm Nude Tude palette

the Balm Nude Tude palette

Least Used This definitely goes to the Urban Decay’s Naked Basics palette. I recently started using this one, but I just know that I won’t be reaching out for this much because this is an all matte palette and I love my shimmers. Plus, I found the matte shadows a bit difficult to work with. But it’s a nice basic palette for those days when you don’t want much color or are in a hurry and need to get ready quickly.

Urban Decay's Naked Basics palette

Urban Decay’s Naked Basics palette

Urban Decay's Naked Basics palette

Urban Decay’s Naked Basics palette

Urban Decay's Naked Basics palette

Urban Decay’s Naked Basics palette

The next question can be replied with a single answer as most people have done on YouTube videos or like a few including me can be split into three, just because I love so many of these friggin’ palettes LOL.

Most Used If you have been following my blog lately, you would know that my recent love is the LORAC Pro palette. The eyeshadows are so soft and blend so well that I just keep coming back to this palette to create more and more looks. In fact I have already put a dent in a couple of the eyeshadows and I will surely be using this palette frequently for my nights out.

LORAC Pro palette

LORAC Pro palette

LORAC Pro palette

LORAC Pro palette

LORAC Pro palette

LORAC Pro palette

Most Loved I can’t believe that their was a fight for this category between the Urban Decay’s Naked palette and the LORAC Pro palette. If I could, I would choose both of them. But if it has to be one, than I will go for the Urban Decay’s Naked palette, only because this was the first palette that I fell in love with and I will always continue to love it. Don’t worry Naked, I’m a loyal companion LOL.

Urban Decay's Naked palette

Urban Decay’s Naked palette

Urban Decay's Naked palette

Urban Decay’s Naked palette

Urban Decay's Naked palette

Urban Decay’s Naked palette

Desert Island If there was one palette that I could take to a desert/island…hold on, I can’t even continue. How could I just take ONE when I love so many? I really thought about this one and after much deliberation decided that it would be my growing INGLOT freedom system palette (provided that I’m not going to an island anytime soon). The concept of choosing your own colors and finishes is just so ingenious. I was further convinced for INGLOT when I looked at all my palettes and found them missing one or two of my favorite colors. So basically none of them are complete for me, but by the time I am done with my INGLOT palette, hopefully I will have a complete-no-need-for-another palette (but I will still buy and love Urban Decay). Oh and also just look at the size of a single Inglot eyeshadow. It carries more product than any of the other brands’ eyeshadows – in a palette or individually.

INGLOT eyeshadows in Z palette

INGLOT eyeshadows in Z palette

INGLOT eyeshadows in Z palette

INGLOT eyeshadows in Z palette

INGLOT eyeshadows in Z palette

INGLOT eyeshadows in Z palette

This is officially the end of the Perfect Palette tag questions but I added two more from my end on account of all the new/holiday/limited edition palettes that have been flooding the makeup market recently.

Best Holiday Palette Until two days back I was going to give it to the Vice 2 palette, but than I got the Kat Von D’s limited edition Spellbinding Book of Shadows palette as a gift and well, on account of no repetitive choices, this is my choice for the best holiday palette. Just like the Vice 2, this has a vast array of colors and I know I am going to be experimenting with this one a lot. There are a couple of unique shades like the black one with teal shimmer is my absolute favorite. Also Kat Von D has paired the eyeshadows in such a way that they can be combined together to make new shades, so a lot of versatility with this one too.

Kat Von D's Spellbinding Book of Shadows palette

Kat Von D’s Spellbinding Book of Shadows palette

Kat Von D's Spellbinding Book of Shadows palette

Kat Von D’s Spellbinding Book of Shadows palette

Kat Von D's Spellbinding Book of Shadows palette

Kat Von D’s Spellbinding Book of Shadows palette

Most Awaited Palette Any guesses? Ofcourse it’s the Urban Decay’s Naked 3 palette which has been launched two weeks back. I have already pre-ordered mine and I can’t wait to get my hands on all those pink-gold shades. I can never have enough of Urban Decay eyeshadows.

Urban Decay’s Naked 3 palette

Urban Decay’s Naked 3 palette

Urban Decay’s Naked 3 palette

Hope you guys enjoyed this post as much as I did writing it and perhaps got convinced to give one of these a try.

Till Next Time

Take Care

Urban Decay Naked 3 pictures have been taken from the following links

http://www.blogher.com/urban-decay-naked-palette-3-huh

http://www.musingsofamuse.com/2013/11/urban-decay-naked-3-eyeshadow-palette-available-soon.html

http://gorgeousingrey.com/urban-decay-naked-3-palette-review/

3 thoughts on “Perfect Palette Tag

  1. Pingback: LORAC Pro palette : Soft Romantic Eye Look | simplyEram's Blog

    • No, not yet but its on my to-do list in the next couple of months but I can tell before hand that the color payoff is excellent on almost all the eyeshadows and swatches r rich in color. Very soft and good quality like UD eyeshadows

Leave a Reply

