Major Beauty Haul

The year is not even 15 days old and already I had a major and I mean MAJOR beauty haul. And here I thought that 2014 will be a quiet makeup year for me. But thanks to an upcoming family wedding, I realized that although I have endless eye makeup, my face makeup was in dire need of an overhaul. So I have been saving for the last few months to get some face products and I am proud to say that except for a couple of impromptu buys, I kept my purchases on a strict NEED TO HAVE basis. 

I am going to share my purchases with you here and this is in no way a review as I have not used any of this stuff myself. I have bought a couple as suggested by Huda Kattan when I had my beauty session with her, some are YouTube favorites and a couple the sales assistants suggested to me.

Beauty Haul

Beauty Haul

The first is Make Up For Ever’s HD foundation. Huda had tried this on me during my beauty session with her and I liked the natural, almost flawless finish of it. My shade is #123, which is a 95% match to my skin.

MUFE HD foundation

MUFE HD foundation

MUFE HD foundation

MUFE HD foundation

MUFE HD foundation

MUFE HD foundation

The second product I bought from their range was Make Up For Ever’s Hydrating Serum. I had gone to Sephora with just a clean face and zero products on just so that I could judge the products application on my skin better. My skin was completely dry and the SA suggested I try this product as part of a prep regime before applying primer and foundation. It has a clear watery liquid consistency.

MUFE HD Hydrating Serum

MUFE HD Hydrating Serum

MUFE HD Hydrating Serum

MUFE HD Hydrating Serum

I completely forgot to add in the group photo as it was lost in my shopping bag. I wanted to get this one for a very long time as I have huge pores on my cheeks and forehead and my blush looks horrible when I apply on top of them, plus my face gets oily so quickly because of them. This is one of the best pore filling primers and can be applied on the whole face but I am going to keep it for my oily T-zone only.

 Benefit Porefessional

Benefit Porefessional

 Benefit Porefessional

Benefit Porefessional

 Benefit Porefessional

Benefit Porefessional

The next item on my must have list was a good foundation primer and I was torn between MUFE’s HD primers and Smashbox’s ones. Both have a nice range of primers that cater to specific needs such as anti-ageing, spot correction, redness correction. In the end and with the help of Sephora’s SA, I decided on Smashbox’s Light foundation primer. Its one of their best-selling products and the SA said it would be good for my combination skin as it has a light milky liquid consistency and keeps the face well moisturised.

Smashbox Light Foundation Primer

Smashbox Light Foundation Primer

Smashbox Light Foundation Primer

Smashbox Light Foundation Primer

The next thing I needed was a good setting powder for my foundation and concealer and the SA suggested that Bare Minerals’s Mineral Veil is one of their best selling products. I, too had also read that its a good powder, so it too went into my shopping bag. It is a translucent loose setting powder.

Bare Minerals Mineral Veil

Bare Minerals Mineral Veil

Bare Minerals Mineral Veil

Bare Minerals Mineral Veil

Bare Minerals Mineral Veil

Bare Minerals Mineral Veil

The second last product from Sephora didn’t take much time to be picked up as it was highly recommended by Huda. It was the Giorgio Armani’s Master Correcteur. I took shade no. 4 which is a peach shade and can be applied to the under eyes area, or areas with dark pigmentation. This is not a concealer, its a correcter to cancel the darkness of under eyes and has to be applied before foundation. And if needed a concealer can be applied over the affected area after foundation. This is my first luxury brand product and I don’t plan to make a habit of buying them.

Giorgio Armani Master Correcteur

Giorgio Armani Master Correcteur

Giorgio Armani Master Correcteur

Giorgio Armani Master Correcteur

The actual shade is peach but my camera could not capture it properly

The actual shade is peach but my camera could not capture it properly

The last item I got from Sephora before moving on to other targets (hehehe) was Benefit’s Gimme Brow gel. Now I am blessed with decently filled eyebrows, so I have never had to fill them before but my brow hairs can go rogue at times and so I needed a gel to keep them in place. And since the gel is a dark brown taupe shade, it gives some coverage too which I need in my inner eyebrows as they are a little sparse. I got the Medium/Deep shade.

Benefit's gimme Brow gel

Benefit’s gimme Brow gel

Benefit's gimme Brow gel

Benefit’s gimme Brow gel

Benefit's gimme Brow gel

Benefit’s gimme Brow gel

Once I completed my reign on Sephora, I moved on to my next target MAC. I wanted a good concealer and had heard a lot of people on YouTube raving about the MAC Pro Longwear concealer. Unfortunately when I got to the MAC store I was told that the Pro Longwear concealer was not available and the SA suggested MAC’s Select Cover Up concealer instead. She told me that this was better for my dry under eye skin as Pro Longwear tends to pull the skin a little bit.And for sure I found it to be more creamier than the tester Pro Longwear, and it also kept my under eye skin moisturised for hours. My shade was NC30.

MAC Select Cover Up concealer

MAC Select Cover Up concealer

MAC Select Cover Up concealer

MAC Select Cover Up concealer

MAC Select Cover Up concealer

MAC Select Cover Up concealer

I had heard a lot of people raving about the MAC Mineralized Skin Finish pressed powder too and so I decided to get this one as well and since it comes in many shades, I got mine matched as Medium Plus. It offers a little bit of coverage as well since it is a colored powder.

MAC Mineralized Skin Finish powder

MAC Mineralized Skin Finish powder

MAC Mineralized Skin Finish powder

MAC Mineralized Skin Finish powder

MAC Mineralized Skin Finish powder

MAC Mineralized Skin Finish powder

MAC Mineralized Skin Finish powder

MAC Mineralized Skin Finish powder

MAC Mineralized Skin Finish powder

MAC Mineralized Skin Finish powder

This item along with the next couple were brought on an urge and were not completely needed but what can I say, except I Love Makeup. I have quite a few blushes from theBalm and Tarte and didn’t have any need for more, but I found this color so beautiful and unique that I could not stop myself from purchasing MAC’s Ambering Rose Sheer Tone Shimmer blush. It is a pretty golden pink shade and quite appropriate for night parties and weddings.

MAC's Ambering Rose Sheer Tone blush

MAC’s Ambering Rose Sheer Tone blush

MAC's Ambering Rose Sheer Tone blush

MAC’s Ambering Rose Sheer Tone blush

MAC's Ambering Rose Sheer Tone blush

MAC’s Ambering Rose Sheer Tone blush

MAC's Ambering Rose Sheer Tone blush (flash)

MAC’s Ambering Rose Sheer Tone blush (flash)

MAC's Ambering Rose Sheer Tone blush (flash)

MAC’s Ambering Rose Sheer Tone blush (flash)

MAC's Ambering Rose Sheer Tone blush (flash)

MAC’s Ambering Rose Sheer Tone blush (flash)

So here I was, roaming about Dubai Mall thinking that my purchases were done when I came upon Illamasqua’s store and I thought to ask about their gel liner which has been praised universally and the SA told me that its the most creamiest gel liner and completely safe to apply on the waterline. I found my hand reaching for the wallet (my brain stopped working for a few minutes here) and I ended up buying Illamasqua’s Precision Gel Liner in shade Infinity.

Illamasqua's Precision Gel Liner

Illamasqua’s Precision Gel Liner

Illamasqua's Precision Gel Liner

Illamasqua’s Precision Gel Liner

Illamasqua's Precision Gel Liner

Illamasqua’s Precision Gel Liner

The SA completely convinced me to get the Illamasqua’s eye liner brush to go along with the gel liner I bought. The fact that the bristles are very stiff and will aid in making a straight line helped convince me further. The brush can be unscrewed into two parts and one end covers the brush end so that they are protected and the brush is more travel friendly. I went ahead with this purchase as I found my Sigma’s angled liner and eyeliner brush to be a little problematic with gel liner application.

Illamasqua's Eye Liner Brush

Illamasqua’s Eye Liner Brush

Illamasqua's Eye Liner Brush

Illamasqua’s Eye Liner Brush

Illamasqua's Eye Liner Brush

Illamasqua’s Eye Liner Brush

Illamasqua's Eye Liner Brush

Illamasqua’s Eye Liner Brush

This completes all the purchases and you have to agree, this is one heck of a haul. But foundations, primers, concealers are something that once bought, if they suit you than they will last a long time and like eyeshadow palettes don’t need to be bought frequently (hehehe).

All of the products were in the range AED100 to AED180 and if any of you should decide to purchase them, my advice is to try them thoroughly before making a decision.

Hope you all enjoyed this post.

Till Next Time

Take Care

3 thoughts on “Major Beauty Haul

  1. Pingback: Steve Madden’s Hudson Tote Bag | simplyEram's Blog

Leave a Reply

