Edith Piaf’s La Vie En Rose, A Sad Romantic Number

About the same time when I became infatuated with Woh Humsafar Tha, I discovered another lovely song, more like an olide-goldie, thanks to How I Met Your Mother. If you’re a regular HIMYM watcher than you know what I am referring to. HIMYM’s episode 16 is probably the best episode, no scratch that, the most le-gen-dary episode in the whole series, (it had to be because its the 200th episode of the whole series) just because we got to see glimpses of significant events of the ‘mother’ during the eight years before she meets the main protagonist, Ted. Her rendition of La Vie En Rose was so raw, sorrowful yet exquisitely beautiful and so connected to her personal life that I kept rewinding the last couple of minutes just to listen to her sing. I love the fact that these actors sing their own songs and make it so believable too.

I knew I had heard this tune before, probably in some movie so I went ahead and looked it up. The original song was in French sung by a famous French singer of the 40s, Edith Piaf.

Edith Piaf, referred to as The Little Sparrow of Paris, was one of France’s best singers receiving international fame for her songs which were mostly ballads about love, loss and pain. Her song La Vie En Rose which literally means Life in Pink but can be loosely translated as Life through Rose-Colored Glasses or Life in Rosy Hues is all about loss of love and surviving through that difficult time. This went on to become her signature song and was translated into English and released worldwide and has been a favorite since. A movie by the same name was released in 2007 with Marion Cotillard playing Edith Piaf.

La Vie En Rose’s record cover

I managed to get the lyrics for the english version from the internet and am posting it here

Edith Piaf
LA VIE EN ROSE (en anglais)
Words: Mack David, original french lyrics: Edith Piaf, music: Louiguy, enr. 8 juillet 1950

Hold me close and hold me fast
The magic spell you cast
This is la vie en rose
When you kiss me, Heaven sighs
And though I close my eyes
I see la vie en rose
When you press me to your heart
I’m in a world apart
A world where roses bloom
And when you speak
Angels sing from above
Every day words
Seem to turn into love songs
Give your heart and soul to me
And life will always be
La vie en rose

I thought that love was just a word
They sang about in songs I heard
It took your kisses to reveal
That I was wrong, and love is real

Hold me close and hold me fast
The magic spell you cast
This is la vie en rose
When you kiss me, Heaven sighs
And though I close my eyes
I see la vie en rose
When you press me to your heart
I’m in a world apart
A world where roses bloom
And when you speak
Angels sing from above
Every day words
Seem to turn into love songs
Give your heart and soul to me
And life will always be
La vie en rose

Such heart touching lyrics. I did realize one thing after listening to this song, that although we listen and enjoy such songs and even feel as if we can relate to them, we really should be thankful for all the good things that we have in our lives. It may not be perfect or as good as others but we get only one shot at living. There is so much tragedy in the world, if we cry over each and every thing, we are taking for granted the little happy things we have and in a way insulting them by not appreciating them. So whatever be your pain, just know that there is someone in the world who has more sorrow in their lives than you. So be happy and life will be beautiful. I know its cliche-d but its the simple truth.

Moving on from the philosophy, I am posting the video link for the original English song here and the HIMYM’s version here. I think both versions are beautiful.

Do let me know if you enjoyed this song or not.

Till Next Time

Take Care

 

The pictures in this post have been taken from the following links

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Edith_piaf_columbia_posters.jpg

http://blog.parisattitude.com/french-culture/edith-piaf-the-little-sparrow-of-paris.html

http://tvline.com/2014/01/27/how-i-met-your-mother-season-9-recap-episode-200-mothers-story/

 

Leave a Reply

