BENEFIT’s Not So Real Mascara

Last year when I was on a makeup shopping spree, I planned to purchase a new mascara as my old and trusty Too Faced’s Lash Injection was almost over. Deciding between one of the new L’Oreal mascaras, I came across Benefit’s latest mascara which had become highly popular among YouTube-ers. But thankfully I didn’t purchase it immediately rather chose to do some research first. Read on to know my first impressions on 2013’s most popular mascara.

Benefit Cosmetics came out with They’re Real mascara back in 2012 and since than its been highly popular among beauty bloggers all over the world. This is what Benefit has to say about their product

They’re real! lengthens, curls, volumizes, lifts & separates. Our jet black, long-wearing formula won’t smudge or dry out. A specially designed brush reveals lashes you never knew you had!
What else you need to know:
94% saw dramatic length & volume*
90% saw base-to-tip curl*
94% saw visible lift*
100% saw long-wearing results*
*Results observed in a consumer panel survey

Benefit claims this mascara gives your eyelashes the ‘falsies’ effect. Maybelline had also come out with a Falsies mascara but how much they actually work is a subject of debate. I checked out They’re Real mascara last year with a complete intent of purchase, but when I tried it out at Sephora, I found that it clumped my lashes even though there was a noticeable lengthening to them. Disheartened by the initial experience and at AED124, I wasn’t completely convinced about the mascara and decided to give it a skip for the time being.

And then last month when I received my Mother’s Day giftbox, to my utter surprise and delight it contained a mini version of They’re Real mascara among other things, and I thought GOD really wants me to try this mascara out! LOL

DSC_0060 DSC_0061 DSC_0062

The mini version contains 3gms of product versus 8,5gms which can be found in the full tube. So a decent amount is available in the mini tube to try and decide on the full version’s fate. The mascara brush end is huge compared to the small wand. The bristles are small and far apart. Ideally this should separate and coat the lashes individually giving a voluminous effect. The domed tip of the brush is such that it can be used to seperate the lashes as well as coat a stray lash here and there with mascara.

DSC_0063 DSC_0066

 

I thank myself for not giving in to my impulsive urge to purchase this mascara, because when I tried out the mini version a few times, it gave the same result repeatedly. Lengthen my lashes, YES it did! but at the same time it clumped up my lashes making them look thin and spidery (eewww!). My eyelashes are not thick, but neither are they sparse but the mascara made it look like I had very few in between. I can’t believe that Benefit boasts this as voluminous coz that’s the last thing it did to my lashes. So out of their claim

They’re real! lengthens, curls, volumizes, lifts & separates. 

only the lengthen, lift, separate part is fulfilled. I was so upset by the result that I didn’t wear the mascara for a long time so I have no idea on the longevity, water-proofness, smudgeness aspect of this mascara. Overall, this turned out to be a totall dud for me.

DSC_0055 DSC_0059

Is it a Hit? I don’t know why it’s such a big hit among users but obviously it must be working for them. I think this could be a good option for those who have thick and/or small lashes so that the mascara can lengthen them and even though it clumps, it may not show so much in thick lashes

Is it a Miss? A big YES from me personally! It clumps them up, makes lashes look thin and spidery and can make lashes look more sparser than they actually are. Kind of defeats the purpose of a good mascara.

What do you think of this product? Have you used/owned it? Share your views with me.

Till Next Time

Take Care

Leave a Reply

